adrienne-copie.jpg

Adrienne Costa

Adrienne Costa is a Ph.D. student of Montreal University (UdeM), with, as tutors, Jean-Pierre Chupin, Ph.D., and Rémi Papillault, HDR, within the framework of a cotutelle convention with the National Toulouse Architecture School (ENSAT).

After accomplishing her architecture studies at Paris Belleville (ENSAPB) and Toulouse (ENSAT) in 2006, she created her firm in 2010 in the Pyrénées-Orientales, constructed mainly academic and social buildings (CROUS of Perpignan) and took part to competitions (Cathedral Space in Perpignan). Since 2012, she teaches with the National Toulouse Architecture School.

Her doctoral research establishes section through the history of architectural representation, considering its links with resistance doctrines which may occur during crises of the discipline and the profession.

The section, a manifestation of doctrinal resistances to architectural crisis

The section, abstractive figuration, allows showing a sight of the invisible: the inside, the outside, the ground, the sky, what divides them, links them or includes one into the other. It shows the shades of proportions and the relationships between man and nature. This results it to be a visualization device as well as a theoretical device; a geometric construction as well as an analytical drawing.

Whereas architects have numeric technologies which offer the possibility of showing volumes as they are wanted to be seen, the section shows them as they will not be seen, but as they are designed, built and as a tangible experience. Looking to the section today, is to take account of the context in which software and 3D models are conceived, in such a way it is nearly impossible to start drawing – and so thinking- a project from the point of view of the section.

By analyzing sections acting as manifests, collected from treaties and publications, it is wished to identify the disciplinary and professional inputs of the architectural section as a theoretical retroactive and reflexive tool for designing and teaching.

How does the section, as a theoretical and practical instrument for a doctrinal body, positions in the field of architectural representation studies in front of professional crises and disciplinary mutations?

adrienne-copie.jpg

Adrienne Costa

Adrienne  Costa est doctorante à l’École d’architecture de l’Université de Montréal sous la direction de Jean-Pierre Chupin, Ph.D., et sous la direction Rémi Papillault, HDR, dans le cadre d’une entente de cotutelle avec l’Ecole Nationale Supérieure d’Architecture de Toulouse.

Ayant effectué ses études d’architecture à Paris Bellevile (ENSAPB) et Toulouse (ENSAT), elle est diplômée en 2006. Ayant créé son agence en 2010 dans les Pyrénées Orientales, elle  réalise essentiellement des projets de commande publique, notamment des équipements scolaires, sociaux et universitaires (CROUS de Perpignan) et participe à des concours (Espace Cathédrale de Perpignan). Elle enseigne depuis 2012 à l’Ecole Nationale d’Architecture de Toulouse.

Ses recherches doctorales portent sur la coupe au travers de l’histoire de la représentation architecturale en examinant ses liens avec les doctrines de résistance qui se révèlent notamment lors des crises touchant autant la discipline que la profession.

La coupe, une manifestation des doctrines de résistance aux crises en architecture

La coupe, figuration abstraite, permet de visualiser le non visible : l’intérieur, l’extérieur, le sol, le ciel, ce qui les sépare, les relie ou les inclut l’un en l’autre. Elle fait apparaître les nuances de proportions et de rapports entre l’homme et l’architecture. Cela fait d’elle autant un dispositif de visualisation qu’un dispositif théorique ; une construction géométrique mais aussi déjà un dessin analytique.

Alors que les architectes disposent de technologies numériques qui offrent la possibilité de montrer les volumes tels qu’on veut les voir, la coupe montre les volumes tels qu’on ne les verra pas, mais tels qu’ils sont conçus, édifiés et tels qu’on en fait l’expérience sensible.

Interroger la coupe aujourd’hui, c’est prendre acte d’un contexte dans lequel les logiciels et maquettes 3D sont conçus de telle façon qu’il est quasi impossible de commencer à dessiner – et donc à penser – un projet d’architecture du point de vue de la coupe.

Par l’analyse de coupes faisant offices de manifestes, issues de traités, de publications, il s’agit de repérer les apports disciplinaires et professionnels de la coupe architecturale comme outil théorique rétroactif et réflexif dans la conception et dans l’enseignement.

Comment la coupe, comme instrument théorique et pratique d’un corps doctrinal, se positionne-t-elle dans le champ des études sur la représentation architecturale face aux crises professionnelles et aux mutations disciplinaires?