Thomas_Bernard_Kenniff.jpg

Thomas Bernard Kenniff

Thomas-Bernard Kenniff is a professor of environmental design at the École de design de l’Université du Québec à Montréal since 2015.

His research and design work focuses on the formalization of social arrangements and their spaces, municipal architectural devices, the theory and design of urban public spaces, and related issues of identity and politics. He is also interested in design processes, including inter- and transdisciplinary methods, collaborative practices, the process of subjectivation, and the application of the concepts of dialogue, ambivalence and indeterminacy to the processes and pedagogy of the design project. His research has been funded by SSHRC, FRQSC, Canada Council for the Arts, UCL and UQAM.

His doctoral thesis on dialogue, ambivalence and the design of public space, defended in 2013, is nominated by University College London (UCL) for a research award from the Royal Institute of British Architects.

He is co-founder, with Professor Carole Lévesque (École de design, UQAM), of the Bureau d’étude de pratiques indisciplinées (www.be-pi.ca), a researcher member of the Villes-Régions-Monde (VRM) inter-university network, and an associate researcher at the Canada Chair on Small and Medium-sized Cities (Hiên Pham, ESG, UQAM).

Thomas_Bernard_Kenniff.jpg

Thomas Bernard Kenniff

Thomas-Bernard Kenniff est professeur en design de l’environnement à l’École de design de l’Université du Québec à Montréal depuis 2015.

Ses travaux de recherche et conception portent sur la formalisation des agencements sociaux et de leurs espaces, les dispositifs architecturaux municipaux, la théorie et la conception des espaces publics urbains ainsi que les questions identitaires et politiques qui y sont liées. Il s’intéresse aussi aux processus de design, notamment aux méthodes inter- et transdisciplinaires, aux pratiques collaboratives, au processus de subjectivation, ainsi qu’à l’application des concepts de dialogue, d’ambivalence et d’indétermination aux processus et à la pédagogie du projet de design. Ses travaux de recherches ont été financés par le CRSH, le FRQSC, le Conseil des arts du Canada, UCL et l’UQAM.

Sa thèse de doctorat sur le dialogue, l’ambivalence et la conception de l’espace public, soutenue en 2013, est mise en nomination par University College London (UCL) pour un prix de la recherche du Royal Institute of British Architects.

Il est co-fondateur, avec la professeure Carole Lévesque (École de design, UQAM), du Bureau d’étude de pratiques indisciplinées (www.be-pi.ca), chercheur membre du réseau interuniversitaire Villes-Régions-Monde (VRM), et chercheur associé à la Chaire du Canada sur les petites et moyennes villes (titulaire Hiên Pham, ESG, UQAM).