sherif-1.jpg

Sherif Goubran

Sherif Goubran is a Ph.D. student in the Individualized Program (INDI) at Concordia University and a Vanier Scholar. He is conducting interdisciplinary research on building sustainability assessment within the fields of design, building engineering and finance. His PhD research investigates the alignment between local sustainable practice and global sustainability goals. His research focus includes building sustainability and sustainability assessment, behavioral approaches in design, building-occupant interaction in buildings as well as topics relating to sustainability in urban and architectural design. Sherif was awarded many scholarships and awards for his research work including the Vanier Canada Scholarship, the INDI Entrance Fellowship and the LEAP PhD Entrance Scholarship. Sherif presented his doctorate research in more than 3 international conferences, in professional journals, and books. He is also actively engaged in co-editing books and organizing research events. He completed a M.A.Sc. in building engineering at Concordia in 2016 with a focus on energy efficiency in commercial buildings. His masters research was published in more than 5 journals and 4 conference articles. During his masters, he received the Concordia University Retired Faculty and Staff Graduate Award. Before that, Sherif completed a B.S. in Architecture at the American University in Cairo (AUC-Egypt) where he graduated top of his class in 2014 and received the academic achievement award for the 5 consecutive years of undergraduate studies. Sherif also presented some of his undergraduate work in student conferences. Today, Sherif is actively engaged in several research laboratories, centers and groups where he teaches and conducts research in design, engineering, architecture and finance. He is also involved in several sustainability initiatives and projects at Concordia on the student as well as the administrative levels.

Title: Our buildings have credentials…Now what? “Green” Buildings and Sustainable Development Goals in Canada

Supervisor: Prof. Carmela Cucuzzella

Research Summary: Today, our understanding of sustainability in our cities and buildings is at crisis. The standards that we depend on are disconnected from the social, cultural and economic realities of both users and localities. In the last 10 years in Canada, 26% of the new awards in architecture are environmentally focused. Yet, we observe a clear gap between our technical definition of sustainability in buildings and the holistic Sustainable Development Goals. New frameworks and approaches are urgently needed to shape our future cities and urban environments. This interdisciplinary research tackles this problem on both the theoretical and practical levels. The research roots Sustainable Development Goals in local contexts and defines quality of sustainable design through critical design approaches. The research presents a theoretical model which is adaptable to different locations and goals, and confronts it with 13 award-winning architecture projects from across Canada. Both quantitative and qualitative methods will be used to analyze the design, its description, and the users’ perspective for each project. This will enable us to understand the limitations and potentials of our current methods and the possible future directions. The research contributes to the theory and practice of environmental design within a number of academic fields. The outcomes will provide important insights for governments, scholars, practitioners and institutions to align building practices with local realities and holistic sustainability goals. The research supports Canada’s leadership in sustainable and clean-growth development in the built environment.

Keywords: Sustainable built environment, Environmental design, Sustainability assessment, Building sustainability, Sustainable development goals, Sustainability assessment tools, Local and global tensions, Contextual design, Theory of environmental design, Design assessment

sherif-1.jpg

Sherif Goubran

Sherif Goubran est doctorant dans le programme individualisé de l’Université Concordia et boursier Vanier 2018. Il mène des recherches interdisciplinaires sur l’évaluation de la durabilité des bâtiments dans les domaines du design, de l’ingénierie et du financement. Sa recherche de doctorat explore l’arrimage entre les pratiques durables locales et les objectifs mondiaux de durabilité. Ses recherches sont concentrées l’évaluation de la durabilité des bâtiments et l’environnement construit, les approches comportementales dans la conception, l’interaction entre les bâtiments et les occupants, ainsi que sur les thèmes liés à la durabilité dans la conception urbaine et architecturale. Sherif a reçu différentes bourses d’études pour sa recherche, y compris la bourse d’études Vanier Canada, la bourse d’entrée INDI et la bourse d’entrée au doctorat LEAP. Sherif a présenté ses recherches doctorales dans plus de trois conférences internationales, dans des revues professionnelles et dans des livres. Il est également activement engagé dans la co-édition de livres et l’organisation d’événements de recherche. En 2016, Sherif a obtenu son M.A.Sc. en ingénierie du bâtiment (building engineering) à l’Université Concordia. Ses recherches de maitrise étaient centrées sur l’efficacité énergétique dans les bâtiments commerciaux. Ses recherches de maîtrise sont publiées dans plus de 5 revues et 4 articles de conférence. Au cours de ses masters, il a reçu la bourse « Concordia University Retired Faculty et Staff Graduate Award ». Il a enseigné et a participé à la recherche au sein de différents projets. Avant cela, Sherif a complété un B.S. En architecture à l’Université américaine au Caire (AUC-Egypt) où il a gradué en 2014 le premier de sa classe et a reçu, pour les 5 années consécutives de ses études de premier cycle, la bourse d’excellence académique. Sherif a également présenté son travail de premier cycle dans des conférences étudiantes. Aujourd’hui, Sherif participe activement dans plusieurs laboratoire, centres et groupes de recherche où il enseigne et mène des recherches en design, ingénierie, architecture et finance. Il est également impliqué dans plusieurs initiatives et projets de développement durable à Concordia au niveau étudiant et administratif.

Titre : Nos bâtiments sont certifiés… et maintenant ? Les bâtiments écologiques et les objectifs de développement durables au Canada

Superviseur : Prof. Carmela Cucuzzella

Résumé de recherche : Notre interprétation de la durabilité de nos villes et bâtiments est actuellement en crise. Les standards sur lesquels nous dépendons sont dissociés des réalités sociales, culturelles et économiques des usagers et des localités. Dans les 10 dernières années au Canada, 26% des prix en architecture étaient centrés sur l’aspect écologique. Cependant, on observe un écart important entre notre définition technique de la durabilité dans les bâtiments et des objectifs de développement durables holistiques. On constate un besoin important pour de nouveaux cadres théoriques et de nouvelles approches afin de façonner nos villes futures et nos environnements urbains. Cette étude interdisciplinaire aborde ce problème à un niveau tant théorique que pratique. La recherche ancre les objectifs de développement durable des Nations Unies dans des contextes locaux, et définie la qualité du design écologique par le biais d’approches de design critiques. Cette recherche présente un modèle théorique qui peut s’adapter à différentes localisations et objectifs, et les confronte à 13 projets d’architectures gagnants à travers le Canada. Pour chaque projet, des méthodes quantitatives et qualitatives vont être utilisées pour analyser le design, sa description, et la perspective des usagers. Cela va permettre de comprendre les limites et potentiels des méthodes actuelles et les futures directions possibles. Cette recherche contribue à la théorie et la pratique du design écologique au sein de plusieurs domaines académiques. Les résultats vont fournir des recommandations importantes pour que les gouvernements, les chercheurs, les praticiens et les institutions arriment les pratiques de construction avec les réalités locales et les objectifs holistiques de développement durable. La recherche appuie le Leadership du Canada en croissance verte et développement durable dans l’environnement bâti.

Mots clés : Environnement bâti durable, Conception environnementale, Évaluation de la durabilité, Développement durable des bâtiments, Objectifs de développement durable, Outils d’évaluation de la durabilité, Tensions locales et mondiales, Conception contextuelle, Théorie de la conception environnementale, Évaluation de la conception